Two land titles but cannot build

Hi all,

Have been following this forum for a long while now and I am a situation where some expert advise would be much cherished.

I have bought a property in Sydenham, NSW and the property has two titles (each lot backing each other)'with one dwelling on a front block and the rear block having a double garage facing a rear lane.

Both titles and lots are zoned R2 low density residential.

I had spoken to the council planner before my purchase and he mentioned that I can develop on the rear block without having to apply for a subdivision and just apply for a street number and a da for the build.

now after my purchase the town planner team leader said i have to submit a subdivision even though there are two titles as the council consider it as one parcel of land.also its not possible to build a new dwelling as the rear lot is facing a lane that has no existing residential addresses.

So if I knock my rear lot garage and make it a vacant land I still cannot build a house on it:confused:(

What can I do? even though I have two titles , the council is now not allowing me to consider them individually ?

Do I have right?

Any advice?

Hi all,

I have bought a property in Sydenham, NSW and the property has two titles (each lot backing each other)'with one dwelling on a front block and the rear block having a double garage facing a rear lane.

Both titles and lots are zoned R2 low density residential.

?

are you sure there are two separate titles? it sounds more like two lots on a single title. Check your title paperwork and see if one references the other.

If it's a single title, then you are probably out of luck...

what's the difference between a a lot and a title? e.g. a survey strata titled lot is both a lot and a title.

It depends on the state.

In Qld The title will list multiple lots. You do not have to do a development application to separate the titles, just file with the land titles office.