Urgent help: Last minute nasty surprise

Hi all,

first time here and in property market. I feel like I'm getting stung already though.

Me and my sis put a deposit on this apartment being built and it's now up for settlement at the end of the month. But I'm still a student and I found out 3 days ago that the application for financing didn't go through (was being handled by the finance dept of a large investement property group that is building the apartment building). Last night I received a letter from the solicitor asking to declare that:

1) we can't go through with the settlement,
2) forfeit our entitlement to any interest earned on the investment deposti
3) pay a $1200 to the replacement buyer for costs incurred
4) if the settlement doesn't happen then still face the consequences of the contract.

Kind of furious that I didn't get told the financnes hadn't gone through yet until so late and to receive such email. What's a good work around? Would it be worth appylying for loan independentely? How quick are these quick mortagages? Can I ask for extension on settlement until I can think better? Any other tips?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks for that.

But since I do not have bank approval for a loan yet and the settlement is due next week, I don't know what to do. The whole idea was to be able to get in early and sell before settlement so I could make savings for future investments.

Thanks for that.

But since I do not have bank approval for a loan yet and the settlement is due next week, I don't know what to do. The whole idea was to be able to get in early and sell before settlement so I could make savings for future investments.

...and you plan on doing the above on your first foray into the property market?

Wait, the people building the apartments are the same people organising your finance? Uh oh.