Valuations

At last, after all the HIH problems have been sorted out, I am settling on my first IP.

Valuation was done for the bank, and it came spot on the purchase price. I am told this is good by my contact at the bank. I.e. the valuation could have come lower, I guess.

So as the property hopefully increases in value, how does one go about getting a new valuation? Do I call the bank's valuer (I know who they are) and ask them to do an independent valuation that the bank might accept, or do I just call the bank and tell them to do a new valuation?
Also, how soon should I be concerned with this step? In 6 months time? In a year? I guess it is dependent on the market, but as I am learning, I would appreciate opinions, advice, suggestions, recommendations, pointers, information, anything (and I promise I will not sue! :)

Cheers
Apprentice Millionaire
(aka Jacques)

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

Hello,

I'm not an expert , not even a novice.
But you can take this or leave it,

I am concerned with valuations that banks do, that come back at the purchase price.
I would ask to see the report , I believe you have a right to see the report if they don't want to give it to you.

-I would follow up with further investigations, such as the dept of natural resources if you are in Qld,( or similar dept in other states) I would be surprised if it cost more than $10, and you can find out what the previous owner purchased the property for.

-Find out from the Council what the Unimproved Council value UCV is for the land, this can be surprising. add up the price of the house construction, extras, fence, pool,landscaping etc see if you are ahead.

-Look into websites that give you search capabilities to find out the prices of other houses/units (or whatever) in the area.
www.confirm.com.au is one

-I'm sure that heaps of readers know of other websites that can help here.