Valuer and Bank not Disclosing Valution of Property

Just a quick question,

When I got valuations done by a bank before purchasing a property they wouldn't tell me what they were valued at.

LMI was not used.

Is this normal when the bank values the property?

Just a quick question,

When I got valuations done by a bank before purchasing a property they wouldn't tell me what they were valued at.

LMI was not used.

Is this normal when the bank values the property?

Hi Ryan, did you go direct to the bank? As a broker i do not know any lender that does not disclose that information to us. As a direct customer i am not sure but some banks in past years would only tell you what 80% was then you have to work it backwards.

Yep standard procedure.

I always prefer to pay for the valuation then it is my property.

The banks argue that, as you didn't pay for the valuation (it is just part of the application fee) you don't own it, the bank does

Yep standard procedure.

I always prefer to pay for the valuation then it is my property.

The banks argue that, as you didn't pay for the valuation (it is just part of the application fee) you don't own it, the bank does

This was common place when i first started broking (2003) but over the years most lenders have relaxed and will at least disclose the amount.

Which lender is it?

Value is none of your business. Bank commissioned valuer to do it, paid them for such and received a result from them. You're not part of that transaction.

During the time I have been investing I have never had any banks disclose values as I assume I am not paying for this.

I certainly tried hard though, started off with coffee, cake then wormed my way into questions about listings and comparable sales and my property guestimate - higher of course, hint ... hint ...

Finally, I asked the question "what's the value", was politely told on a number of occasions that they could not disclose this.

I give up.