valuing the land component in a strata title (apartment/townhouse)

Hi everyone

I am new to investing in strata titles and am abit unsure on how to value the land component of apartments and townhouses. Unfortunately the articles I have read on the internet are abit vague on this.

For terminology i understand that a strata title is divided into lots and each lot is allocated ?units?.

1. How do I value the land component of an apartment? Can I take its allocated units as a percentage of total units? For example, if my lot is 10 units, and the whole strata title has 100 units I own 10% of the land. So in future if a developer buys the land for $10m, I am entitled to $1m of the proceeds. Is this right?

2. Does the location of the lot affect the allocation of land to me (refer to Location Plan, page 9)? http://rgdirections.lpi.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0005/143078/Strata_Plans_Fast_Facts.pdf

This question is unrelated as it is more of a risk assessment

3. I understand that the strata title document at its creation will list the lots and units. Is it possible that in future the body corporate reduces my unit? Or gives additional units to other lot owners and therefore diluting my share of the land?

Thanks!

Hopefully someone else will chime in but my thoughts on calculating the land component is that there are at least three ways, each progressively more accurate.

• # of units / sqm of land on lot
    e.g. 10 apartments on 300sqm = 30sqm land component per property.

• Total lot size / total allocated units * allocated units for the the property in question

• Total lot size / total sqm (internal and external) of all properties * total sqm (internal and external) of the property in question

I'm not sure which would be taken as "correct" if the site was acquired in the future. Probably the allocated units method.

Let me preface this by saying that I'm not an expert on NSW Strata, being from QLD - but it's all pretty much the same.