Weekly grocery & household costs

Curious as to what you would say is a reasonable weekly budget for groceries and household costs for two parents and 1yr old in Brisbane.

We like eating out and don't always shop at Aldi, though I would like to do that more often!

Depends if the 1yo eats that gourmet stuff in jars or just swipes the food off *your* plate. I know which one is cheaper!

FYI my 1-and-a-bit year old eats more than my almost-9yo, and is considerably less fussy.

We'd spend about $100pw, but a fair slab of that goes on nappies.

$75 and $100 for a family of 3? What are you people eating? I try to budget for groceries (including cleaning products and toiletries) of around $70 a week for one person but always go over, is probably closer to $100 when I include all the bits and pieces I buy during the week, and I don't eat all that extravagent (not a big meat eater, except for salmon fillets which can cost a bit though). I admit I'm not that stingy when it comes to supermarket shopping though. I can't stand most home brand products and I always buy Australian products where possible, no matter how much more it might cost. And I will always pay extra for free range eggs and chicken.

Last 12 months = Groceries incl. toiletries and soaps at $132/week for us two adults and rising rapidly. It was stuck on $100/wk for a few years but has risen quickly this year. And we have an advantage of obtaining our own meat with fatted calf and lamb a couple times a year. Mostly only buy chicken and snags from the butcher.

Rarely eat out, we make better pizzas and hamburgers than anyone....!

Most nights it's veges with whatever meat...replace veges with salad in the warmer months....lots of slow cooked stews in winter that go well for a couple nights in a row or on lunches etc...

Not stingy with tucker either....but our rural location means more expense mostly.

We're in a very similar boat, two adults and a 4 YO in Brisbane.

We spend about $300 on food and groceries a week I'd reckon. Last night we went out for Chinese, $50. Sat we went to Seaworld and had dinner on the way home, $60. Groceries probably $150-200 per shop weekly at Coles/Woollies. Plus all the cash expenses on coffees and stuff.

$300 is probably about the mark, or about $100 per person. And that's just food and other grocery items. Not even talking about cars / fuel / schooling etc.

we're usually around $180/wk for 2 adults and 6yr old ... although last week was $300 as i bought several jars of fav moisturiser while on sale had run out of giant tin of milo, big box of washing powder etc

so - prob $180 for 3 weeks and then $250-300 for the 4th.

we rarely eat out as can't be bothered and make better at home (having homemade pizza tonight - start with pita bread base and build up from there). have takeaway prob once a month.

It depends on how much fast food we get or lunches we buy at work.

Hubby probably spends $40 a week just on work lunches while I never go out for lunch.

Let's say including cleaning supplies maybe $200 a week for 2 people.

Now for the really important questions. Who does the grocery shopping and who does the cooking?

Ours would be around $300 a week for 4 people.
We spend around $250 in a big weekly shop, then I make regular visits for more fresh fruit / veg and other needed items that were forgoten from the big shop. Hubby then buys Subway every day for lunch so that's more again, plus I buy my own body care and cleaning products from the health food store with seperate money, so I don't keep track of that or add that in.

About $200/wk. This covers cleaning products, toiletries, food for 4 people. The two teenagers work in the food industry so often aren't home for regular meals. So you could say the $200 covers 3 people.

$75 and $100 for a family of 3? What are you people eating? I try to budget for groceries (including cleaning products and toiletries) of around $70 a week for one person but always go over, is probably closer to $100 when I include all the bits and pieces I buy during the week, and I don't eat all that extravagent (not a big meat eater, except for salmon fillets which can cost a bit though). I admit I'm not that stingy when it comes to supermarket shopping though. I can't stand most home brand products and I always buy Australian products where possible, no matter how much more it might cost. And I will always pay extra for free range eggs and chicken.

Considering my paycheque is only $420 a week take home, I think $75 a week is reasonable for 2 1/2 people. Son only eats supper with us.
Almost all of our food is 1/2 price, reduced, or on sale.We tend to know where the cheap food is.We never feel disadvantaged.We wear it like a badge of honor.Not sure how much you all spend on cleaning supplies, but $10 a month would be normal for us.Having a $1 store is great.:) If something is not n sale, and we want it, we buy it.
Life and groceries are only as expensive as you want them to be.
One of our cheapest take out meals is 2 hotdogs, 2 coffees, and 2 mini mint patties for a total of $1.96.Yes, I could make it cheaper at home, but sometimes we like to splurge....
Last year in Sydney while looking for a cheap place to eat...and having no luck..we went to Coles and bought a cooked chicken,salad, and chili sauce.Sat in a park aka parking lot and shared with the pigeons.

We're in a very similar boat, two adults and a 4 YO in Brisbane.

We spend about $300 on food and groceries a week I'd reckon.
Yeah, I reckon we're about $400 per week, but that's 2 adults and 2 kids, plus some of the consumables are used by our housemates, so I think our running expenses sound pretty similar.

It was great to meet you last week, Michael. :)

For our SS friends, I was at a function that had *nothing* to do with property, and heard this guy with a young son talking about having moved up from Sydney, and his son was at the Montessori school, and I asked "You're not Michael W, are you?", almost simultaneously with him asking "You're not ozperp, are you?" (Well, we do know each other's real names, but you get the gist ;)) LOL A big welcome hug and much conversation freely followed. :)

I asked "You're not Michael W, are you?", almost simultaneously with him asking "You're not ozperp, are you?" (Well, we do know each other's real names, but you get the gist ;)) LOL A big welcome hug and much conversation freely followed. :)
Yes, it was a tad embarassing. I was looking at Ozperp a bit sideways thinking, I know you. And as we both twigged I realised I knew her from her facebook photo! :eek:

It was the unexpected nature of the meeting that made it so random, but it was great to finally catch up. :D

But enough of me off topic now... ;)

About $200 per week - two adults.
We have the kids over a few nights a week to help them manage so that adds up - 4 extra (they're both young and buying their first home) and I help out with things 'on special' to chuck in their freezers, or if nappies are cheap for the bub etc etc.

We eat out and/or have takeaway once a month, though usually go and have a coffee somewhere on the weekend.

We mostly socialise with friends - bbq's etc.

We're never home, but most of what we do is simple things - it's leftover from when our kids were little and we didn't have much cash to spare.

I can't believe how boring that sounds - it's much better in reality!!