What a joke !

When you drive around and around to look for the plug that matches the sink, of course it becomes expensive. I don't get petrol for free.

The main issue here is not about the cost of the plug BUT stealing. They are theft.

The law doesn't allow us to punish people by overcharging them for a rubber plug !

It's a specially designed stainless plug which came with the stainless sink. It's NOT a rubber plug!!! If you have no clue jaycee then you should go to Bunnings to have a look. (I didn't buy the sink from Bunnings but a kitchen bathroom specialist shop).

I'm sure that the tenants felt the same as you. This is why they returned it. Based on their behaviour, I was sure that they stole it. So they had to whether to keep the plug and pay pay the "expensive" money or return it to us. Do you think they would return the stolen item if I had asked them to pay $2?

We charge tenants when they do not return all the keys we give them. the keys themselves only cost about $5. Not a big deal, except our locks are all on a master key/lock. When ensure all new tenants they never need to worry about a former tenant having access.
We charge tenants who refuse to return all keys $100.
That is letting them off lightly.

We have to buy a new lock set, have it rekeyed, and installed.

It's a specially designed stainless plug which came with the stainless sink. It's NOT a rubber plug!!! If you have no clue jaycee then you should go to Bunnings to have a look. (I didn't buy the sink from Bunnings but a kitchen bathroom specialist shop).

I'm sure that the tenants felt the same as you. This is why they returned it. Based on their behaviour, I was sure that they stole it. So they had to whether to keep the plug and pay pay the "expensive" money or return it to us. Do you think they would return the stolen item if I had asked them to pay $2?

LOL They returned the plug ! Chris, sorry I didn't realise it was that stressful, sorry mate.

That's how a lot of tenants feel too.

Having a burn on a countertop may not seem like a big deal to a tenant (for example), but to fix it, means replace it ($$$) or rent as is.Then the next tenant will figure, who cares, already one burn mark....

An owner wants their property returned in the same condition, less wear and tear. Not in less pieces or damaged.

The main issue here is not about the cost of the plug BUT stealing. They are theft.
Why would you assume that it was "stolen" rather than just accidentally packed? A basket waste is highly unlikely to fit the sink in their next place, so it seems an unlikely item to want to "steal".

I've used many removalists over the years, and on arrival at my new home, have often discovered to my annoyance that the removalists have packed plugs, door bells (which they had to remove from the wall), and all sorts of things which I had assumed it was obvious were supposed to stay with the previous property. :mad:

Yes, the departing tenant should still return those items, to be cooperative, but given that the basket waste wouldn't usually be specifically listed on the condition report, the tenant could easily say "it wasn't there when we moved in", and you'd have Buckley's of winning a claim for the cost.

Given your position, I'd be asking the tenant nicely if they accidentally took it with them and would remind returning it, please. When I was a tenant, I know if a former landlord had remotely implied that I "stole" those items, my desire to cooperate would evaporate, and the chances of the item being returned would drop dramatically.

Perp:
The plug should sit in the sink unless you remove it. How did the plug end up in their new house if they didn't remove it from the sink? Didn't they know that they didn't own the plug? On the other hand, the tenants also replaced my brand new energy saving light bulbs with old pear shaped light bulbs that didn't work. It happened accidently as well? The plug doesn't have legs so it can't walk out of the sink by itself unless you remove it. They must know that they were NOT the owner of the plug and therefore they should have left it in the sink. Their behaviour tells me what kind of people they are.

I can't belevie the depths of analaysis over tentna's motives to steal a plug or the owners mtoive to accuse too quickly

As long as you're all having fun....

In criminal law, theft is the illegal taking of another person's property without that person's freely-given consent.

But I do understand that in some people's mind, theft / stealing has been decriminalised.

jaycee, I love to rent your IP and get a few things for free.

I can't belevie the depths of analaysis over tentna's motives to steal a plug or the owners mtoive to accuse too quickly

As long as you're all having fun....

This thread is making me laugh out loud.

Perp has a point. In our last move our overzealous removalists had taken all the appliance instruction books which should have remained at the property, every plug (yep, plugs again) yellow/white pages, doormats, remote controls - anything loose went into the truck.

We had an understanding and gracious LL who was pleased to see them all come home to roost when we returned them.

But your removalists didn't replace the new lights with the old broken lights though. If that had happened then you got to ask why. I don't think it's "friendly mistake".

In criminal law, theft is the illegal taking of another person's property without that person's freely-given consent.

But I do understand that in some people's mind, theft / stealing has been decriminalised.

jaycee, I love to rent your IP and get a few things for free.

Chris, where the fck did I suggest that ? I cant believe how many pages and posts PROVING it was THEFT or others trying to imply it's you overreacting and prove it was not theft... all over a couple of lightbulbs and a plug.... I was surprised at the depth of the aanalysis and obvious time and emotion some have spent on this topic !

Like Amadio this has made me laugh out loud a little, sorry

Oh, and I don't think so abou the place to rent thanks buddy, my gut feel is somehow you would not be the ideal tenant either

I see why you're angry Chris. I would be angry too.

Normally I would let things like plugs slide, but if its a specific one that is hard to find (though I would probably take note and never buy a sink from that manufacturer again if thats how they made their plugs) then i think its a fair call to ask them to return the plug or supply a replacement or pay a fee.

Also changing lights, if the lights were busted its just as easy to go to woolies and pick up a philips energy saver bulb for $6. The fact the went and found an old incandescent bulb just goes to show how tight these tenants are.

That said, while these appear to be small things, I'm guessing its probably a culmination of small things that resulted in you being this ticked off.

But seriously, the $$$ cost is not worth the stress. Just wear it and move on, you'll live a little longer :)

And getting angry and spewing aobut it all over the fourm does what ?

Bill the tenant, fix the problem and move on !

I would have thought it's NOT worth getting angry about(?)

I have to join the laugh out loud club on this one.

Yes, assuming they actually stole the plug instead of it being accidentally packed then it would be annoying, but at the end of the day if a missing plug is enough to get you stressed then perhaps property is the wrong investment choice for you.

When i moved in to my current rental there were no plugs to be found, we went to bunnings and bought a couple of plugs and then went on living our lives, I dare say most tenants would do the same.

jaycee,

When I was renting I always moved out a day or two earlier then return to the properties to clean / tidy up before handing over the keys. In another word, yes, I paid extra one or days rent (that I didn't have to) because I believed that it was my obligation to return the properties to the same conditions as I just moved in. I never pinched anything (that not belonged to me) from the properties.

Yes, assuming they actually stole the plug instead of it being accidentally packed then it would be annoying, but at the end of the day if a missing plug is enough to get you stressed then perhaps property is the wrong investment choice for you.

When i moved in to my current rental there were no plugs to be found, we went to bunnings and bought a couple of plugs and then went on living our lives, I dare say most tenants would do the same.

The problem is I can't find a replacement. It's a new design plug which came with the new sink. I't made of stainless steel. It's a plug when you push it down, it's a filter when you pull it up. (see photo)
Luckily the tenants returned it after I told them they had to pay $20 if they refuse to return it to me.

• plug-and-wastes.jpg
    plug-and-wastes.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 50
I checked it on ebay, couldn't find it. But luckily I got it back.

The background of the tenants: they renovated their home last year and sold it in Feburary this year. At the same time they bought another old house. While they were renovating their newly bought house, they rented my IP.

Annoyance is one thing, principle is another. There's probably more to the story, but how do you seriously "accidentally" pack away a sink plug?