What can we learn from the Rudd vs Gillard leadership battle as property investors?

The latest Newsletter from Bill Zheng..enjoy.

What can we learn from the Rudd vs Gillard leadership battle as property investors?
By Bill Zheng, February 2012

Now before you think I am going talk about politics, I am no expert in politics, I can only draw on some business examples with the understanding that there are vast differences between politics and business, as they are motivated for different purposes. Most importantly, I want to see how we can learn from this as property investors.

The basic idea that I get from my limited reading, is that Kevin Rudd is very intelligent and more popular with the voters in the opinion polls and Julia Gillard is very disciplined and more popular with her colleagues.

If the Labor party is not in trouble, Gillard can easily beat Rudd to be the party leader, as party leaders are decided by internal popularity. But if the Labor Party is in serious trouble to lose the next election, then whoever can lead them to victory will be more likely to be made leader of the party. I know I am not telling you anything new here.

This reminds me of the two typical types of people in business namely the entrepreneurs and the managers. The entrepreneurs are usually a little bit crazy and creative, more visionary but often more egotistical, the managers are usually more level headed and can get things done with more support from their colleagues.