What do you call yourself?

I was having a conversation with someone the other day and was asked what I do for a living. So far, I'm inclined to pull one of the many things I 'do', but I found I'm reluctant to say property investor.

Exploring this, I think it's because of the stigma. I think it is also because I don't feel like an investor. My real estate interests span more than 'just' investing. Also, being that I only have one investment property I feel I can't really claim the title just yet ;).

Also, all of the properties I have ever owned or had a stake in, have been built to varying degrees and so I'm wondering if developer suits better. I'm also wondering if I will ever disclose much of what I do to people outside of those that really get it.

What do you call yourself?

I've done a few renos on my IPs recently so if anyone asks I call myself a property renovator. I too am reluctant to call myself a property investor. Saying I'm a renovator doesn't indicate whether I own the properties or not, and most people assume I don't own the properties myself!

Sad that we feel a bit of a stigma in saying it.

I agree that the term developer would work for the same reasons as above. No disclosure required as it doesn't identify exactly what you do.

Good question.

I was trying to explain what I would 'be' as I've just resigned.

entrepreneur - too wanky
property developer - about right but not if I don't want the ATO to think I'm a developer
company director - possible

If and when you get there you won't be doing nothing i can guarantee you that!

I'm a workaholic so I seriously see myself working until my final days:)

But I hate that I have to classify myself as having one occupation. I have a day job. I have investments. I have a side business. Hard to pin down!