What to expect during pre-settlement inspection

Hi all,

I have just purchased my first property (ever). I am also new to Australia and rather unfamiliar with many things :) :)

The property I bought is currently being lived in by the owners. They will move out before settlement.

I will be doing pre-settlement inspection in a month or so. I know what this inspection is about, but I am unclear about what to expect when it comes to utilities.

In my mental model, when the current owners move out, the house will have:
- no power
- no gas
- no water
- no phone.

BUT after reading the many posts in this forum, which says one should bring a gadget to test the power outlets during pre-settlement inspection, I am beginning to think I am mistaken.

Could someone kindly explain to me how utilities work? Will they remain "on" even after the owners have moved out?

Should I find there is no power or gas or water or dial tone is that a problem?

Thanks a lot!

Legionarie

You'll need to reconnect the utitlties in your name, I'd suggest you do this a few days before you move in.

I don't think there's any point in taking something to test the power outlets. They'll work if the vendor hasn't disconnected them when you do the settlement, and they won't work if the power has been switched off.

If they're still working, you still need to get it put into your name. You don't want to be in there on your first Saturday night, and the power switches off when you don't expect it.

Water - generally remains connected. You need to get the meter read on settlement day.

Gas, electric, phone - may or may not remain connected, depending on the vendors. Some people ask for them to be disconnected for fear that they'll receive a bill for your usage, many others just leave them connected provided you've contacted the utility companies to tell them that you'll take over the account from settlement day.