What was your first rental like?

Thinking back to my first rental.
I had just left school after year 11. I was 17 1/2 years old

I wanted my own place after working 6 weeks. I worked full time in a factory and made $3.68 hr. My take home pay was $125 net. Rent was $155 month.

My first apartment was small.It was semi furnished. It had a combined kitchen and sitting area. That is actually a generous description. It had a combo unit of fridge,sink, which an over head cupboard.A rangette was a 2 burner electric stove.I could either use both elements or one element and the oven.

A chrome kitchen dinette set, with 4 chairs that did not match.Across from that was a divan (armless lounge, that folded down to a bed)
In another room there were 2 single beds,a dresser and wardrobe.

The bathroom had a tub, with no shower, toilet and basin.

This apt came with heat and lights, but I had no control over the heat. The apt under me had that control. It also came with tv cable..which I found out a couple of months later, when someone lent me a tv.

My first day shopping for my new place consisted of bedding.I never knew that flannelette sheets were bought individually (well they were at that time).
Having limited funds, I made due with one sheet, one blanket, pillow and pillowcase. I also splurged and bought 2 towels.

We didn't have discount stores back then. I didn't know very much about thrift/OP shops, or i would have gone there.

I still remember the first time I wanted to bake a cake. It cost me $11 to buy the bowl, pan, measuring cups etc and the cake mix. That was an expensive cake.

I stayed there for 6 months.

Last edited:
A run down 4 bedroom terrace near Sydney Uni, sharing with a floating population of 5 to 12 others.

Good times. Good times.

The taste of Mi Goreng noodles takes me back every time.