What's the dodgiest industry ?

Bit of fun to be had ..

In another thread Evand mention:

They are truly the dodgiest of all industries*. I don't care if i'm called an agent basher or whatever....its a fact.

*ok...maybe used car salesmen are but its a close call.

I would disagree. I reckon the roof restoration industry, the roller shutter industry, oh and best of all the rug sellers. When the whole sector can operate at 50-80% off the retail price year after year they have to be pulling your leg.

Enjoy the day. :D
Graeme

The industries you mention do not have state & national peak bodies perpetuating & supporting the untruths, non disclosures and every trick in the book on an unsuspecting public.

Apparently in the REI's training courses they actually teach the tactic of 'conditioning' of vendors. Amazing.

No other industry has such an organised system of pulling the wool over the public's eyes.

That's the reason all property is sold the same way and pretty much all agents answer questions with the same stock standard BS answers.

The problem is not dodgy agents, its a complete dodgy system.

As you say, its all fun. But even fun is not devoid of truth.

Surely the dodgiest industry is the agricultural Managaged Investment Schemes, or MIS.

Massive salesman commisions, buying land at way over market prices in the aim to get a tax loss for the rich wood duck investors. At the same time ruining prime farm land by planting trees or such, and buggering up farmers markets by the production of produce at a loss that genuine farms can't compete at.

The recession should finish off these schemes, as I can't see people needing a tax loss for a while. Good flippen job too.

The funds management industry would have to be a close second.

Agents and used car salesmen are miles apart. A car yard has to invest in stock. They have there back sides on the line. REAs just take the cream off the top.

And don't forget the property sharks and their dodgy 'seminars' ... and the investment 'gurus' and their 'guaranteed to make you rich' spruiking!

One of my pet hates are the advertisements featuring sports 'stars' of various types, politicians or other 'famous' people urging you to buy whatever it is they are 'selling' ..... if a product needs that sort of exposure in order to sell it, then the warning bells really start ringing!!!

LynnH

And don't forget the property sharks and their dodgy 'seminars' ... and the investment 'gurus' and their 'guaranteed to make you rich' spruiking!

One of my pet hates are the advertisements featuring sports 'stars' of various types, politicians or other 'famous' people urging you to buy whatever it is they are 'selling' ..... if a product needs that sort of exposure in order to sell it, then the warning bells really start ringing!!!

LynnH

These should be close to the top of the list, in my opnion.
They prey on those who think they are "investing in education" and those who use seminars and other schemes as a procrastination or action avoidance technique. Their money would be better spent in trying to work out why they need to keep going to these things instead of actually DOING SOMETHING.
They all offer slick platitudes, emotional advertising and the promise of sharing "secrets".
There only one secret when it comes to real estate investment.
Give me $5,000 and sign up for my program and I'll tell you what it is.
OK, here it is for free.
THERE ARE NO SECRETS!!

There only one secret when it comes to real estate investment.
Give me $5,000 and sign up for my program and I'll tell you what it is.
OK, here it is for free.
THERE ARE NO SECRETS!!

Geez, Rob, now you've really put the cat among the pigeons! Giving 'secrets' away for FREE - yegads, man!! :D

Lynn

I was going to say "financial planners" but TC said:
Surely the dodgiest industry is the agricultural Managaged Investment Schemes, or MIS.

I agreed but thought that they still needed FPs to promote 'em, but TC still beat me:
The funds management industry would have to be a close second.

So I just agree with TC and BV. :)

hadn't thought about the agricultural Managaged Investment Schemes. And then you have the really shonky FP's that take your cash and spend it on themselves. :mad: conman by another name.

Agree they are crap so I agree with Sunfish, TC and BV.

A chain of shops that specialises in vacuum cleaners that I shall not name but I am sure you all know who I mean.

They are actually a front to sell a single brand of vacuum cleaners that they are the sole distributers for and I think also wholesaler. But they act as if they are giving you "indepedant quaified advice". Most people never even know they have been had.

They are near the top of the list for me.

Goanna, is it G__freys and Wer____m?

I reckon the "gaming" industry is pretty crook.. The tricks that they play to prey on the vulnerable comes pretty close to the lows of the RE industry ;) How gambling is classed as entertainment, I'll never know.

The ones that get me are the fast food takeaway adds on the telly , the burgers look the size of a large box ,takes the person 2 hands just to hold on to one,you turn up at the outlet and buy one burger and it's the size of a 50 cent piece,or maybe my eyesight is not as good as it was..
..willair..

One thing which 'amuses' me in the Real Estate Industry are these glitzy expensive Award nights they hold. They are written up in the social pages like they are very important events. But they are just internally run and judged competitions within a trade; maybe they should let the general public decide who wins!

The ones that get me are the fast food takeaway adds on the telly , the burgers look the size of a large box ,takes the person 2 hands just to hold on to one,you turn up at the outlet and buy one burger and it's the size of a 50 cent piece,or maybe my eyesight is not as good as it was..
..willair..

I vote with my feet on that score; don't eat the stuff as a rule.

Anyone in any industry that "overservices" eg roofing plumbers, termite inspectors, dentists, car mechanics and the list goes on and on.

Overservicing is the biggest rort going in my opinion.

oh yes as (non) independant financial advisors.