Where are your positively geared IPs??

I'm new to property investing and I think I must be doing something wrong. I'm looking for a positively geared property but all the ones I look at online and do rough calculations on only seem to just cover the IO loan and the extras leaving nothing extra. I know you can add extra income by putting a granny flat and renting rooms seperately. But for my own curiosity I would like to know where are your positively geared IPs?
Thanks for answering in advance.

I'm new to property investing and I think I must be doing something wrong. I'm looking for a positively geared property but all the ones I look at online and do rough calculations on only seem to just cover the IO loan and the extras leaving nothing extra.

A couple of things:

Leaving aside granny flats, for additional income and rent-by-the-room,
1. Almost any property you buy will be positively geared if you put down a large enough deposit.
2. Most negatively geared properties now, will become positively geared if you hold onto them long enough. (rents go up and mortgage repayments stay pretty much the same)

Other than that, you can buy cheaply, do a low cost cosmetic reno, or add extra bedrooms / bathrooms and increase the rent.
Or buy at the very low socio-economic end of the price range, these properties usually have higher rental yields.

A couple of things:

1. Almost any property you buy will be positively geared if you put down a large enough deposit.
2. Most negatively geared properties now, will become positively geared if you hold onto them long enough. (rents go up and mortgage repayments stay pretty much the same)

Other than that, you can buy cheaply, do a low cost cosmetic reno, or add extra bedrooms / bathrooms and increase the rent.
Or buy at the very low socio-economic end of the price range, these properties usually have higher rental yields.