Where to buy 400k Melbourne?

Hi all,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I have decided to buy my first investment property. My partner and I have been pre-approved for a 400k loan. I'm trying to decide between:
- a smaller apartment (1 bed, 1 garage) in Carlton/North Melbourne/Fitzroy) or
- a larger apartment (1/2 bed, 1 garage) in Brunswick/Northcote

The plan is to rent it out, and in around 5 years time re-assess and possibly use equity from the property to get a second investment property.

Which option would be best for my goals.

Thanks in advance - appreciate any advice as I'm fairly new to this. I'm also open to new suggestions - I just feel the above options are safer/conservative choices.

Hi OP,

- Carlton will give you good rental yield (probably 7%?) but CG would be less than ideal, especially for what you're planning to do (see below)
- Brunswick/Northcote is near the $500k mark now for 2-1-1. $400k would get more a 1-1-1. It's really lifed this year...

- If you're thinking about extracting equity from this in 5 years time, have you thought about units/houses further out with more of a chance for growth?
- For $400k maybe a 2-1-1 unit near Ringwood/Ringwood East (certainly development happening there)
- Otherwise, Nunawading maybe?

Thanks J_aco,

I haven't but I'll definitely do some research on Ringwood. My only concern will be what kind of rental yield it has, my partner and I do not wish to be putting in too much each month.

With the rising price over the past 12 mths (10%+?) and rents not able to catch up yet, I suspect that the current rental yield across most suburbs in Melb just won't be that great (maybe 3.X%-5% max for most houses and units; and of course higher for apartments but growth won't be as good).

My advice is to take $50k off, then look what you can buy for $350k

That'll make things a little clearer.

Find something $350k, see how the numbers stack up, and then you'll know if you want to go ahead.