Where to start?

I'm just beginning to plan my financial future and would like to speak to someone about a plan. But from reading the forum, I think if I go to a financial planner they will only recommend things they make a commission from (i.e. not IPs). And I want someone who will give me independent advice that is best for *me*.

Can anyone suggest the type of expert I should seek? I want tailored advice, so while this forum is fantastic I really want to sit down with someone who can make a plan specifically for me.

I'm renting currently, about to finish paying my credit card debt and will be starting from scratch. As I'm starting form a blank slate I'd really like to have a plan mapped out so I can make the best decisions possible. If you had your time over, starting from scratch, what would you do?

Many thanks in advance.

I'm just beginning to plan my financial future and would like to speak to someone about a plan. But from reading the forum, I think if I go to a financial planner they will only recommend things they make a commission from (i.e. not IPs). And I want someone who will give me independent advice that is best for *me*.

Can anyone suggest the type of expert I should seek? I want tailored advice, so while this forum is fantastic I really want to sit down with someone who can make a plan specifically for me.

I'm renting currently, about to finish paying my credit card debt and will be starting from scratch. As I'm starting form a blank slate I'd really like to have a plan mapped out so I can make the best decisions possible. If you had your time over, starting from scratch, what would you do?

Many thanks in advance.

1. a good mortgage broker ( find out your lending capacity)

2. A good BA ( if looking for cg or Hy ideally both)

a plan of attack how will you get where you want to go setup some small goals etc.

read some books like the ones on the main site of this forum.

Parlour - what books have you read?