Where vs. When to buy

THE RANT
It's amazing how many people of whom I've talked with have an expert opinion about market timing. You know what I'm talking about; you've probably heard people recently say "I'm not going to buy as the market has come back." or something similar too.

Now I'm the first to profess that even though it's possible my understanding is more than most I am by no means an expert... I'm 100% sure there are people in this forum that know MUCH more than me and others in this area and yet, it's uncanny that just because everybody lives in a property they feel it makes them think they're a senior economist.

Information+graduates.jpg

I PUT TO YOU
In this post I'd like to put to you some thoughts about market timing and learn what your opinion is as to its potential as per investing in real estate.​

"TREND IS YOUR FRIEND"
Okay; You may have heard this age old adage before so it sounds pretty obvious, but the real meaning of it is DON'T try to pick the top or bottom of market trends.

How many times have you thought "Ahhh I wish I had bought then..." or "I really should have sold before then..."?

It's in our nature as investors to want to be the clever guy/girl who got in before a spike and got out (or leveraged) before a pull back. Truth be told though that no investor can do this consistently (if you know how please post) as we only know tips and troughs retrospectively.

The good news is, in Australia, real estate prices spend more time trending than they do reversing or retracing. Reversals also occur over a relatively shorter period (e.g. 2009). Therefore it's my belief that if you buy in historically proven trends you'll be right most of the time (but wrong at top and bottoms) where as if you try and pick the peaks and troughs in trend you'll be wrong all the way up the trend and then back down; only eventually being right at the top and bottom.​
get_foto.php

WAVE OR OCEAN?