Who gets all the money

I am not sure if this has been mentioned before or not, but i am curious.

We pay interest of 7.5% on a $100k mortgage. The banks tell us, they need to borrow from overseas to finance Australian mortgages. In some countries they have central bank rates of close to 0%. Where does all the money go?

Bank of X in USA borrows from the US Fed Reserve at 2%, then borrows to Aust Bank at 5%. Does this mean 2% goes to US Fed Reserve, 3% to the Bank of X in USA and the Aust Bank makes 2.5%.

Am i missing something? How does the Reserve Bank here effect this transaction? Do the people of the US or whatever country take 5% out of 7.5% of my interest?

I am a little perplexed.

I am no expert on international high finance but its my understanding that banks dont borrow directly from the reserve bank or US fed. These org's act as clearing houses between banks when they settle their accounts each day. If a certain bank is owed more than it owes other banks at the end of the working day then the reserve or Fed will pay them interest overnight on those funds at what ever the cash rate is in that country. The rate paid by the reserve or Fed for overnight funds affects the money market rates as it sets the absolute risk free rate of return for cash / liquid investments. This is why the cash rate can be used to some degree to control market and ultimately home / business loan rates.

The money markets are where banks actually borrow money at the wholesale level both in Australia and OS, the other funding source is off course deposits. So the cash rate is just the benchmark for no risk returns for overnight funds. You here of the reserve buying securitized mortgages from the US banks but this is more to do with capital ratios and banks liquidity requirements not funding for lending I think.