Whose suburb data is reliable? Anyone's?!

Hi. I'm just getting started in IP and am trying to do basic research on a number of areas. I'm wondering whose data people use and find to be reliable. I have some concerns about a number of suburb reports available on the web.

For example if I look up Potts Point - which I know well - on RPData (http://reports.rpdata.com.au) I get some results that are clearly wildly inaccurate. For example, that single parents make up 58% of households. Given that you could round up all the children in the suburb and still not fill a school bus (and that probably close to 58% of Potts Points residents are gay) this seems very questionable. Also the statistic that the population of the suburb has declined by one fifth between 2001 and 2006.

When buying in areas you don't know, how can you make an informed decision if information is this far out?

Any tips greatly appreciated

Seymour,

All the data is reasonably reliable. The problem arises in how the various data collection agencies report on medians etc.
See this thread: http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=617563

The suburb profile data you mention:
1. Probably comes from the ABS and is merely being presented by RP Data and others
2. 2006 is old data. The new data won't be available until a while after the next census is taken (where the ABS gets their raw data)

There is an article in The Age today that discussed the problem of using median house price:

http://www.theage.com.au/business/the-median-stripped-bare-20100131-n6kp.html

Last year was an exceptional one for property that, among other things, highlighted a problem with using median prices to measure the market.....

Monique Sasson Wakelin of Wakelin Property Advisory agrees quarterly medians can be misleading, even with the correctional methods some companies use....

Seymour,

All the data is reasonably reliable. The problem arises in how the various data collection agencies report on medians etc.