Why do Agents do this stuff...

I am an agent (have been for 13 years)...I also have a Psychology degree and I STILL can't work it out!!!
Why do agents do the crazy things they do??? The silly things that sully our reputation and tar us all with the same brush....

Having just had a couple of terrible experiences myself (more about that in a minute) I was reading Zhouses thread "Strange thing with Purchase" and I thought I would throw it open for discussion to you all....
Probably controversial but I am keen to know your thoughts as you guys deal with agents on a regular basis...

First my experiences..
1) Block of land advertised at very low price. Pic showed water views. Nearly made an offer on the spot, but to keep the wife happy we jumped in the car to have a look. The block was heavily treed (unlike the cleared one in the pic), had a double storey house opposite and hence no water views (unlike the pic)....turns out the pic was of a cleared block next door which is not for sale! Thank goodness my wife wanted to see it first!
2) Mother in Law is visiting at the moment - wants to buy IP near us. Went to Open Home - house going to Auction. We discussed with agent making offers prior etc. Two days later it has sold to someone else for less than MIL decided she was prepared to pay - and the agent hadn't even called her back to see if she wanted to make an offer...is he not supposed to act for client to get best price??? Should this have gone to auction seeing how there was at least 2 interested parties????

Over to you...WHY DO AGENTS DO THIS????????? How can we stop it and more importantly why are they allowed to continue in our profession? What is the answer - the regulatory bodies don't seem to know....

you can't do anything because generally you're dealing with people who have no mechanical / vehicle nouse so they sell houses instead....