Worried about not qualifying for a loan

W

WebBoard

I'm just getting my life together after a failed business venture and a marriage separation- I've started a new job which is fairly low-paying (about $27,000 gross)and I have no assets to speak of. My credit history is not great-5 credit cards in joint names which I am paying off (will be paid off by Dec 31).
Anyway I don't think I'll be able to obtain a loan to invest in property through the usual channels-but I want to invest within the next 12 months-does anyone have any suggestions/websites etc. I know I can pay off up to $1000 per month. Can anyone help???
Roger

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

Roger,

I'm no financial expert but, if I were in your shoes, I would wait until Dec 31 when all your cards are paid off, as I know that lenders include credit card limits when assessing you for a loan. Far better to have no debt on these cards and to reduce the number of them as much as you can. Perhaps only plan to have one (or none) by Jan with a low limit.

Make Jan your starting afresh date and do your research in the meantime. It would also help if, in the interim, you could speak to a good independent mortgage broker and see what your options are.
Keep at it!
Cheers, Jacque :)

Reply: 1.1

Hi,

Yes, I think I agree with the last post. I really understand that feeling of impatience, but most markets in Australia are at or close to a peak and waiting for a year or two probably won't make much difference. I would spend the time consolidating and learning and biding my time.

Otherwise, you should consider no/low doc loans. Resi seems ok (though not for the really credit impaired). Others like Liberty will loan to just about anyone, but at pretty high rates.

Good luck

Gail

Reply: 1.1.1

Roger,

I'm sorry to hear your story. You'll be fine with the right attitude.