Would you Buy in REDFERN?

I have been browsing the furum and the internet quietly for some time now, and am considering buying a PPOR in redfern. (terrace)

I have noticed an immense CG in redfern in the last 5-10 years,

I plan to buy the worst condition in a reasonable street and renovate. (I am a builder with a keen interest in Property investment and this will be my first!)

I missed this one on the weekend,
http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-nsw-redfern-116314451

My budget is an 800 Purchase price. Sinking approx 300K cash in to minimise holding costs and afford renovation.

There is very little left in the kitty once a purchase comes along, so renovatons will be slow. But hopefully with 18 months to 2 years depending on scope of works.

Redfern? Has it been done? Do you see any CG left?

Thanks

I almost bought a 3 bedroom unit on the second top floor of the Lawson Building in Redfern during FHOG in 2009....it was under $500k and I thought it was too expensive.....

Hindsight is a terrible thing

Hard to imagine even the worst streets in Redfern won't get dragged along by what's happening in the area. You're a builder and can live in the place while you do the work yourself? Sounds like a good plan. Don't limit yourself to just Redfern, though.

My budget is an 800 Purchase price. Sinking approx 300K cash in to minimise holding costs and afford renovation.

There is very little left in the kitty once a purchase comes along, so renovatons will be slow. But hopefully with 18 months to 2 years depending on scope of works.

Tactically, wouldn't it make more sense to maximise the borrowing, and keep more of your cash for the renovations? Say you borrow 600k instead of 500k. The interest on the 100k extra is 5k a year, but it gives you an extra 100k to fund renovations. It's usually easier to borrow for the purchase itself than to borrow for renos.

Thanks for the replies.

Alex lee- Point taken!