Would you ever buy an IP worth more than your PPOR?

Discussion in 'Investor Psychology' started by freyja, 27th May, 2015.

1. freyja

freyja Member

I think there is definitely a psychological hurdle in this scenario. Well, for me there is anyway!

I'm new to investing property, having bought my first one recently and am entertaining the next purchase. I'm not considering Sydney for obvious reasons but one day, Sydney could be a possibility. However, with my PPOR's current value at 700K it is possible that I'd have to outlay more than it's worth to secure a well located IP property . This just doesn't feel right to me, even if the numbers added up.

I know each to their own and do what makes sense to you etc, etc - but I was wondering if others feel the same?

2. D.T.

D.T. Property Lookerafterer

Media:
    It's only psychological really. There's no logical reason why the value of an investment would be even compared with value of your home.

My IP's happen to all be worth less than my PPOR, but only because that's the strategy I've used for those acquisitions. Nothings to say future ones might be more or less or whatever.

Judge on the quality of the investment on its merits and how it fits into your goals and strategy, rather than trying to compare it to some other unrelated number.

3. Biz

Biz $17 DOLLAS YO!

I have an IP worth more than my home, no biggie. Never really thought about it tbh. 1 bedroom house in a totally different area compared to my 4 bedder ppor. I get what you mesn in a way though, it would be a bit weird to be in the same area and your tenants have a better house than you haha.

4. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Finance broker/strategist

Media:
    All of my tenants have dishwashers, my own home doesn't (and my wife never let's me forget it). They all live in nicer houses than I do. Some of my IPs are definitely in more expensive locations than my home as well.