x-collat

I'm also pretty new at this and I have just been reading the post on x-collat and I'm afraid to say "I still don't get it!" and would appreciate your advice please.

My PPOR is valued at $550k with $125k owing.
A couple of months ago I purchased a unit $125k, using the equity and security of PPOR.
I am now looking at puchasing another at $105k, using eq & sec PPOR, but see the advice from the majority is not to do this because it will tie up all loans...what security do I use for 2nd IP please?
thanks,
confused

You draw out the deposit and closing costs from your PPOR (or IP if it has the equity).

You then settle the other independantly.

Financially, keep track (I use a spreadsheet) that $X,000 of your PPOR belongs to IP # x

You're still using your PPOR for the funds, but not giving the bank the title for security (or x-coll).

The result is the same, you were always using some of your PPOR equity to pay for the IP, just now each loan in stand-alone.

Cheerio

Simon.

To do it you need to get a Line of Credit on your PPOR , and use this to pay for your deposits.

The LOC is secured only by the PPOR , and the IP's hvae stand alone loans .

See change

What do people think about this strategy:

Use paid off PPOR as a security to buy IP1,
then use IP1 as a security to buy IP2,
then use IP2 as a security to buy IP3, etc

In this case each loan has only one security property. Is it a valid structure? Would my properties be technically x-colled? What are the drawbacks?

Cheers,
Lotana

Originally posted by sbe
You draw out the deposit and closing costs from your PPOR (or IP if it has the equity).

You then settle the other independantly.

Financially, keep track (I use a spreadsheet) that $X,000 of your PPOR belongs to IP # x

You're still using your PPOR for the funds, but not giving the bank the title for security (or x-coll).

The result is the same, you were always using some of your PPOR equity to pay for the IP, just now each loan in stand-alone.