Advertising in r/e - consider this.

One of the things that comes up very often is the cost of advertising your property for sale with an agent.

This thread is directed more at the newbs.

How much should you spend on advertising your property?

Here's my take, and to qualify my view, I can say that I have been involved in over a dozen transactions, and have made some mistakes that you learn from. I've even sold my properties myself. This is not fun, because every second phone call is an agent trying to get your listing and promising you a great service.

I was an agent for a time, and most people enquired about buying a property and had already seen a few on the net, in the window and in the paper that they were interested in. They were already looking. The rest - I showed 'em.

OR, they had seen none at all, and wanted to see what we had.

Unfortunately mistakes are always expensive, so I'll try to save you guys a few bob.....

YOU DO NOT NEED TO SPEND ANY MONEY ON ADVERTISING TO SELL YOUR PROPERTY.

Now, the agents will chime in here and strongly disagree, and probably some SS posters.

Of course the agents will; they have a vested interest.

I don't. I'm here purely to discuss property and to help others where possible. Yeah, yeah; I'm a bloody great bloke.

But think about this; every single day, every single agent already has probably half a dozen properties advertised in the various papers and on the internet, as well as their signs out the front of the property in their area.

The buyers are already looking.

They are looking in the r/e's windows, trawling the streets looking at the various signs, the streetscapes, the property types - researching their chosen area.

If they aren't; they are on the net, looking in the papers, but probably all of the above.

So, in order for them to see your property, all you need is:-
1. a photo in the r/e's window (which the buyers will be looking in)
2. flyers in the reception for buyers to look at - with the address on.