Need guidance on getting started?

Hello,

My husband and I have been researching investing in property for the last 12 months and I think we are almost ready to seriously begin looking for our first IP. We do not currently own any properties.

Background:
My husband is in defence, so we receive very cheap rent and would prefer to continue renting, and invest in property while we have the extra cash to save. The places we cannot buy in are Canberra, Sydney and Brisbane as we may end up living there, and defence would make us to live in the property so we would lose the access to cheap rent and the IP would then be forced to become our PPOR.

Whatever we buy would need to be a set and forget type of investment, as we won't be living close enough to renovate etc.

I plan to only work full time for another two years, have our second child then only work three days a week from that point on, so my goal is to set us up financially as much as possible in this period, and be able to continue saving for additional IP's on my reduced income - which would mean not too much negative gearing.

We met with a financial planner who suggested we purchase a house and land package for around $400,000 in Townsville or Maitland with a 5% deposit. This would be negatively geared, and we would have to contribute around $130 per fortnight after the tax deductions/return.

Having read this fabulous forum in great detail, it seems that purchasing house and land packagges as an IP is not recomended... so what would you do in our situation? We currently have $25,000 in savings, and can now save $1200 per fortnight comfortably.

Many thanks to everyone who reads my post!

Come down to Melbourne to buy :)

With $25,000 though you are a bit stretched in terms of deposits. Even on a 95% lend that takes you to $250,000 including stamp duty. Best to keep saving I would say while researching until the savings build up a bit more.

Why can't you buy something in Brisbane for $250k?