$14k Debt Paid-off, Now Where to Begin?

First of all, an introduction. My name's Adrian, 21, and I've been lurking around hear for about a year.
It's my first post, as when I graduated in December last year, I came out with a $14k personal debt and haven't been in a position to do anything investing wise. Two weeks ago I paid the last of it off (not a bad effort I think for a $58k salary!)

Anyway, I'm after some advice on where to begin with my investing. Part of my plan is to save $2.5k and margin lend at 50%LVR into index funds (Aus shares, Int shares, LPTs and Gold etc.) in an 80/20 equities/cash split and continue to add regular cash and loan amounts each month.

My aim is to buy my 1st IP whilst maintaining a dollar-cost-averaging approach to the index funds. My criteria for property (broad) are:
  • $200 - $250k
  • Townhouse with land component (courtyard etc.)
  • Minimum 2 BR
  • >4% yield (gross)

Based on this, I will need about a $20k deposit (95% LVR). Is it possible to borrow against equity in shares for the deposit? i.e If I have $25k in shares can I use 80% ($20k) as an equity deposit similar to borrowing against existing property? What are the implication of this (if the value of the equities drops, will the bank call my loan etc.)?
Is this a risky strategy, and would my effort be better placed in saving in an account?

Thanks in advance, any comments on my plan/criteria etc are welcome (good, bad and ugly!)

First of all, an introduction. My name's Adrian, 21, and I've been lurking around hear for about a year.
It's my first post, as when I graduated in December last year, I came out with a $14k personal debt and haven't been in a position to do anything investing wise. Two weeks ago I paid the last of it off (not a bad effort I think for a $58k salary!)