20% deposit or two properties utilising LMI?

Hi community,

I'm yet to purchase my first IP, however I am looking to change that towards the end of this year. Once I get going with my initial purchase I am looking to grow my portfolio at a fairly rapid rate, which means I will need good cash flow and ideally positively geared properties to start with. I'll have around $110K give or take, which I was planning to use to put down a 20% deposit on my first IP. However, should I split the deposit and purchase two IP's instead and take advantage of the LMI even though it can be quite costly? Bear in mind, I am still a rookie and have little to no experience in property investments; therefore, is it wise to leverage myself to such an extent??
Thank you in advance for your advice.

Taku

Hi community,

I'm yet to purchase my first IP, however I am looking to change that towards the end of this year. Once I get going with my initial purchase I am looking to grow my portfolio at a fairly rapid rate, which means I will need good cash flow and ideally positively geared properties to start with. I'll have around $110K give or take, which I was planning to use to put down a 20% deposit on my first IP. However, should I split the deposit and purchase two IP's instead and take advantage of the LMI even though it can be quite costly? Bear in mind, I am still a rookie and have little to no experience in property investments; therefore, is it wise to leverage myself to such an extent??
Thank you in advance for your advice.

Taku

1. Yes, it could potentially work better to split your 20%deposit into 2 x 10% deposit, allowing you to purchase 2 properties in a short period of time, especially if they are positively geared properties.

However if your looking at flipping properties/ buying under the market or carrying out extensive renovations and doing a re-value within 2-6 month than it may be worthwhile sticking with a 20% deposit- it depends on your investing style and strategy.