Am I in a position to be buying?

I'm starting to think about whether I should be looking into either an IP or a PPOR.

I got pointed in the direction of this forum a couple of weeks ago and have been busy reading lots (and lots) of stuff.

Was curious as to what kind of position I am in as regards to financing / purchasing a PPOR or IP?

I guess a brief overview of my personal situation:

Marital Status: Single

Savings: $80,000
Assets: $50,000
Debts: $0

For a PPOR; ideally somewhere central/northen fringe of Melbourne.

I work in IT, am highly skilled, but do contract work, will this be negatively viewed from a lenders viewpoint? (I can easily show solid income and savings.)

Flip side of the above is that I do earn decent money, working on a day rate, and at the moment am booked solid until July.

Sorry, not really sure what to write... Just not sure what kind of position I am in (If that makes sense?) So was curious as to if I am in a bad/average/good position?

I work in IT, am highly skilled, but do contract work, will this be negatively viewed from a lenders viewpoint? (I can easily show solid income and savings.)

I guess its down to the Banks how much they willing to lend, but 80K deposit would definately make you look good.

Whenever I go for a loan, since majority of my employment was around the 1 year mark, they always ask what Industry..I say IT - they just go 'oh that explains it'...

You just need to be able to service the debt. Ask yourself whether you can service 8.5% on xx amount of money, and whether it be P&I, or IO.

I'd also do some calcs at a 12% interest rate and possibly higher, so that you "know" at what point you can no longer service the debt.

hi
like me or hate me you will need to read my posts to understand so don't worry about your posts.
first serviceability is not an issue if you buy in a new company and trust structure if you can deposit the first 12 months of interest up front.
so work on your figure on this.