Am I ready for margin lending for shares?

I've been investing in shares for the past 5 years. Although I've had big losses due to poor selection and too much emotion from my side, I currently have an annualised gain of 20+% across my portfolio.

this % may not be too exciting to some here, but it gives me confidence that I may be following the correct path in share investment.

Unfortunately it's been my own money. I have not geared. So I've lost the opportunity to reap the benefits much more. But there are always still opportunities out there.

I've read a book Margin Lending Explained (reading it again), and it explains the basics and how one can control your exposure by not being to greedy, and more importantly, by investing in sound, strong companies.

I don't invest in emerging companies. Only put my money in companies that I know will be in 10, 20 years time. So they will be stocks with high lending ratios.

Another thing though, I've only invested in US shares. There are heaps of websites in the US with quality information about each company. I still haven't been able to find this wealth of information for australian shares, so I haven't made the move and buy anything locally.

leaving portfolio value aside (it's not much, compared to what others here deal with), will there be a bank that provide me with a margin lend? (comsec, anz) ? I'm not planning to gear to my eyeballs, just a low amount that doesn't disturb my SANF.

thanks

You can choose any margin lender. Main ones are ETrade (ANZ) and Comsec (CBA). You can also try Macquarie Prime - they offer a much better investment platform and better leverage plus more competitive rates.

is there a currency risk you need to be aware of with Overseas shares? Or is that hedged effectively because you are planning on doing the margin loan in the US, with US dollars?