anyone bought outer sydney/melbourne and worked their way in?

I'm a journalist looking to chat to anyone who has bought in the outer suburbs of Sydney or Melbourne and worked their way in with the money they've made on lower priced property. Anyone interested, it's painless and a 5 minute interview for a case study in a leading investment magazine.

I sort of fall into this category. Bought near Penrith in 2000 then used the equity to buy near Parramatta in 2002. Since finding my partner used the equity in Parra to buy in Eastern Suburbs last year.

Hi Beachgirl

I would also fall into this catagory having bought properties as far west as Penrith and the Mount Druitt areas and also as close in as the Homebush area. In fact I have purchased 6 in the Penrith area and 7 in the Mount Druitt area this year and am looking at present to get as many as I can afford over the christmas period from mortgagee auctions. These 2 areas for me represent great capital growth and high rental return areas. Having said that, I am still picky in which suburbs I purchase.

Yep,

I think you'll find quite a few of us that fit that category. I bought my first property in Carramar (near Bankstown) when I was only 23. I used it as my primary savings vehicle for the next 6 years then sold it, added some managed funds and paid cash for my block of land in North Narrabeen. I then borrowed to build the house in 2000 and have since paid it off.

I've always said that the Carramar investment was a huge leg up into the Sydney market. The capital gain was negligible, but the savings mentality coupled with the experience of buying and owning a property made all the difference.