Armchair Experts

This could possibly be a somewhat contentious post.

After reading posts on this site for several months now, I have become aware that there are several arm-chair experts lurking around, offering their unlimited advice to seasoned investors, without ever having invested themselves.

Incredibly, I have come across people whose opinionated posts number in the hundreds, but then I am shocked to find they haven't EVER invested themselves. Sometimes I find there are people advocating what I consider to be highly risky strategies, but haven't done it themselves. It seems that often the most successful investors on this forum have the least to say. (No offence to those who have had plenty to say, as your comments are appreciated too!).

Personally, I am also a novice in terms of investing (2 IPS), but don't consider it my role to tell other experienced investors what they should be doing, especially considering my limited experience. If they have a strategy that obviously works, then power to them.

Are there too many gunnas and armchair experts here? People who have swallowed whole about a dozen get rich quick books but haven't made the big step of buying.

I'd be interested in what others think on this topic

ND

Call me paranoid, but I expect that your last post was aimed at, among others, me.

Contrary to what some on this forum might believe, just because people have yet to actually invest does not mean that they do not have valid view points, nor useful information to share.

For the record, a significant proportion of my posts have been on economics and related matters.

These are topics that I am as much (if not more so) qualified to speak on than anyone else on this forum.

And btw. Cosmo asked me a question. He was good enough to ask it, so I was good enough to reply.

MB

Maybe you are paranoid Pitt St . Probably deservedly so :p .... but then again you are an economist :)