Attention need urgent help- tax!

hi everyone i need some urgent help, regarding my house.

im 22 and plan to pay off my house that is rented out in four years, then posibly sell it withdraw a extra 200,000 and buy my dream home!

when i was 21 i built a house for 305,000, got my first home buyers grant reduced the house to 285000, and spent 15000 to finish off the property plus stamp duty, extra fees ect...

i have sinced rented the house out thinking i would be able to receive money at tax time, but as of recently the house postively geared! WHAT DO I DO??

because my rent it more than my intrest what should i do with my offset account beacause atm im going to be paying tax!

im not prepared to buy another investment property atm, im also thinking about buying another car ute for work which i could also claim for work purposes what this be a good idea also??

IM EXTREMLY CONFUSED! im new to this stuff and any help would be really appreciated!!! thanks again.

First of all, make the extra payments into an offset account so you don't have a tax problem when you decide to purchase your dream home. Paying off the existing home loan directly (and then redrawing later) could mean that loan is not tax deductable when you buy your own home.

Next question is, what's wrong with having a positive geared property? You will have to pay some tax, but that's because you're making money!

There are certainly better things you could do with your money than reducing the interest on your investment loan, like putting it into alternate investments such as shares, but paying tax is a very nice problem to have because it means you've made a profit.

i see what your saying.. i curently owe on the home 160,000 i live at home with very minmal expenses and earn between 60,000 and 70,000 per year, the house is also rented out at 340 per week, do you think it may be wise to pay that tax and try pay the house outright in my goal of 4 years?