Auctions to be abolished

wow ... in response to the Great Australian Scream article here http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/great-australian-scream-20090421-ae0e.html, we have several ultra intelligent suggestions such as this one below:

"It may seem simplistic and I'm sure there are a lot of reasons it won't work (I'm new to the housing market), but couldn't house prices be controlled by the government setting up an independant valuation system where houses are valued by a government valuer, rather than a real esteate agent looking for commission. Also, abolish auctions and 'dutch auctions' so that prices are set and adhered to, rather than bidding wars pushing prices up past the actual value of the house. This will change the definition of 'value' when it comes to housing prices which is currently inflated by emotion and the ease of borrowing huge sums of money." :eek: :eek: :confused:

http://blogs.theage.com.au/yoursay/archives/2009/04/taking_it_for_g.html

wow - someone who doesn't believe in free market economy.

communism - here we come.

clearly this person's view point will change when they actually buy a house...

unfortunately, I am seeing more and more of this nanny state rubbish amongst younger generations.

I understand they want the world to be fair's fair and all, but I don't think they have the life experience to appreciate that govts rarely do anything as efficiently or well as private interests.

If they did, then they wouldn't have outsourced housing the poor to the private sector.

"Prices set and adhered to"....

Now I ask you where's the fun in that?!!
Would this then extend to garage sales, art auction houses, Ebay etc?