Australia's Best CEOs & Company Directors

According to Warren Buffett, having a CEO with energy, integrity and intelligence matters a great deal if you are an investor in a listed company.

So who are our best CEOs and do they really add value to their companies?

I'm especially interested in smaller listed companies where star directors are buying up shares with their own cash.

Any ideas? Please share.

My picks (I am no expert):

Andrew Forrest.
Peter Vanderspuy
The team from Forrrestania before it was taken over.

Any others?

How about the owner/directors of larger companies like Harvey Norman and Westfield?

There maybe others?

Teele and Argus from AFIC have had some great feedback, though much of what I've been reading is as they are leaving

I'm especially interested in smaller listed companies where star directors are buying up shares with their own cash. My picks (I am no expert): Andrew Forrest.

Peter Bond (Linc Energy) owns ~39% of that business, and Linc is a lot smaller than FMG.

(And...) EDIT - I have seen Graham Turner of Flight Centre get praise for his skills, and he does have a pretty big stake in that business.

Last edited:
According to Warren Buffett, having a CEO with energy, integrity and intelligence matters a great deal if you are an investor in a listed company.

Yes, Buffett certainly likes CEO's with integrity, energy and intelligence. But out of the 3 the most important one for him is integrity. Because, you definitely don't want a CEO with full of energy and intelligence but no integrity ;)

Having said that Buffett will not invest in a business which doesn't have any economic moats even if it is run by an excellent CEO.To quote him

When a management with a reputation for brilliance tackles a business with a reputation for bad economics, it is the reputation of the business that remains intact.

It's far better to buy a wonderful company at a fair price than a fair company at a wonderful price.