Becoming friends/friendly with a REA??

I have been a REA for 4.5 years. Previously, I was a teacher (15yrs) and had invested in property as soon as I started work in '89.

I have seen plenty of unethical practices and acts in my time in RE and there are some (consistently) unscrupulous agents.

Equally there are some very, very reputable agents (eg my boss) who genuinely try to help and who are honest, hardworking agents.

These people have usually been around for a long time 10+ years and have a loyal client base and get plenty of referrals. They believe in property and often are successful investors themselves.

There is obviously a big turnover in sales staff in the industry. Many agents won't have found their feet yet and may think they have to act in a certain way in order to get sales. They may be under pressure to "perform." They may not have the knowledge that comes from an interest in property (eg investing and or developing) and from experience.

I really believe that they agents who are full of "sheet" get found out eventually and often leave the industry or the area in which they operate.

I agree with comments about talking to agents. Find one with whom you feel comfortable, one who will do a bit of work for you, and who can verify what they are saying.

There is no doubt that you will benefit from having a good relationship with an agent(s). They can help you with knowledge/information and might even call you first with an investment opportunity.

Actually I just so happen have a "HOT BUY" for you...:)

I have been a REA for 4.5 years. Previously, I was a teacher (15yrs) and had invested in property as soon as I started work in '89.

I have seen plenty of unethical practices and acts in my time in RE and there are some (consistently) unscrupulous agents.

Equally there are some very, very reputable agents (eg my boss) who genuinely try to help and who are honest, hardworking agents.