Beginner guidance needed

Hi,

I'm just starting out hoping for some thoughts and guidance.

My situation is essentially as follows (values are conservative):

PPOR1 value 420k owe 340k
PPOR2 value 500k owe nil

No other loans, CC etc

We are looking at a new place due to family needs and expect this to be around the 900-950k mark for what we need.

I would prefer to keep both PPOR1 and 2 and convert into IPs, but if I was to do this and use a LOC on PPOR2 for a deposit am I not getting any tax benefits?

Would I be better selling PPOR2, paying this off the new PPOR (PPOR3), then using some equity to purchase a new IP(s)?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Yes if you use equity in your houses to buy the next one, it will not be tax deductible. Whether you sell PPOR2 is up to you, depends on whether you think there is growth in holding onto it.

I guess I would be getting taxed on the income from the rent, but there would be no deduction against that property?

I seems like it might be better to sell, have a reduced loan on the new PPOR3 and then draw down on it's equity to purchase new IP(s) and start these from scratch?

What would others do? Am I looking at this wrong?

I guess I would be getting taxed on the income from the rent, but there would be no deduction against that property?

I seems like it might be better to sell, have a reduced loan on the new PPOR3 and then draw down on it's equity to purchase new IP(s) and start these from scratch?

What would others do? Am I looking at this wrong?

You're not looking at it wrong, you're just in the situation a lot of people find themselves in if they don't get good advice before structuring loans.

You've paid off all debt, that's a great result but not so great if you were ever intending to rent the property out at a later date.