Building an IP vs buying preloved dwelling

I am new at all of this and I am looking at buying a few investment properties with a view to holding them for the long term. I am a PAYG government employee.

As such I would some thoughts from you boffins about building my own IP vs buying a property that is pre-loved and using it as an IP. More to the point issues such as depreciation of fittings and other tax type issues etc.

I am sure there is stuff like this in the forums but I would appreciate your thoughts and any links that discuss such issues.

Regards and thanks in advance

Smouch

Depreciation is a factor but shouldn't, in my view, be the deciding factor. You first need to decide what your investment objectives are (do you need to be cashflow positive? or could you afford to hold a negatively geared property for a while if you anticipated very strong growth), and this will dictate the kind of property that you're looking for.

If you're after long-term capital growth, and can afford to hold a negatively geared property for a while, then I'd go for an area where the fundamentals are strong. If you can build new in this area, and "land price plus cost of building" is comparable to a similar standard established property, then build and get the depreciation benefits.

But if this equation doesn't work, or you can only get depreciation benefits by building in a fringe area that may not experience strong growth for a long time, then I'd forget depreciation benefits and go for an established property with stronger prospects for long-term growth.

Summarised from this post, the advantages of new properties include:
  • Greater depreciation
  • Less maintenance
  • Easier to rent at higher price
  • More appealing to tenants
Disadvantages of new properties include:
  • Hard to add value
  • Higher purchase price
  • Usually get hit first if market is slowing
  • Slower capital growth (in comparison to established properties in the same area) for a few years