Buy a Display Home and lease back

Hi
I am considering buying a display home and then leasing it back to the building company instead of getting a house built.
They have guaranteed they will pay me 7% over the next 2 years.
After that I can then rent it out for the normal market rate.

It sounds like a good opportunity as the house is built with many extras and higher quality inclusions.

So far the only drawbacks I can see are:

1) Needing commercial insurance (as the lease deal will be commercial with a company), instead of residential insurance;
2) Paying stamp durty on both the land and the house

It's in a growth area.

I have no experience in property investment and am looking for advise on this....
Thanks guys...

I have no experience in property investment and am looking for advise on this....

:D You have no experience using the "search" funtion on here either apparently :D

Next time try a search on "display home". This has been discussed at length on the following threads:
http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53911

http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50980

http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49802

There are lots of traps and at 7% they obviously saw you coming ;).

Beware :rolleyes:

Be very sure of the company, Many such deals are done with the a $2 shelf company being the one paying back your rent, not necessarily the actual building company per se.

This happened plenty of times before whereby the 'builders' don't have to pay back lease prices becasue the rent is guaranteed by a now defunct shelf company , this was especially prevelent a few years ago with big apartment/hotel type builidngs 'giving' guaranteed returns, via a shelf company

It all depends on the deal. Not all builder lease backs are bad, just like all serviced apartments arent necessarily bad. It depends on purchase price and what the likely rental will be after the lease has ended.