Capitalising LMI / Stamp Duty

Hi guys,

Still very much a student to all this and am still learning, but had a question about capitalising LMI and/or stamp duty.

Can someone please explain to me how this works? I was having a read of the RAMS Fast Track home loan option which offers 97% LVR and capitalisation of other up front costs. Does this mean stamp duty/LMI is paid for by RAMS (in this case) and tacked on to the principal of your loan?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense i'm a total newbie to real estate.

Cheers!

Hiya

Lenders will generally allow you to go up to a max of 95% of the properties value and allow you to add the LMI on top (the majority of lenders will only allow you to add a portion of the LMI with a max overall LVR of 97%). Some won't cap it at 97% and will effectively go up to a max of 99% - ING and BWA spring to mind here.

Borrowing to cover all costs such as stamp duty, etc is only possible if there's other security up for grabs - like equity in a guarantors property for instance.

Cheers

Jamie

Hi guys,

Still very much a student to all this and am still learning, but had a question about capitalising LMI and/or stamp duty.

Can someone please explain to me how this works? I was having a read of the RAMS Fast Track home loan option which offers 97% LVR and capitalisation of other up front costs. Does this mean stamp duty/LMI is paid for by RAMS (in this case) and tacked on to the principal of your loan?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense i'm a total newbie to real estate.

Cheers!

Rams Fast track is a difernt product. Because mum and dad are guarantoring the loan, they are basically lending their equity to you to borrow against. therefore Rams will lend you the purchase price, the stamp duty and any other costs. Because they are lending less than 80% of both properties value, there is no mortgage insurance payable.