Caravan investment?

I'd like to start off by saying hello all as I am new to somersoft
I'm 21yrs old and am an apprentice diesel mechanic (3rd yr)
I've been very interested in property investment for a fair while now

As I'm an apprentice I don't have a fair amount of money to work with and will mostly be relying on a loan and gearing it.

To start off I was thinking of a relocatable home in a caravan park

I understand that the rent will have to cover the ground rent, loan repayment, and some left over to be kept in a bank account for repairs (which I will do minors myself) and when property is un-occupied.

Has any1 done this? Success? no success?
So pretty much what I'm asking is this a good or terrible idea?
if its terrible what are some other idea's on low wage or loans under $50,000
Any feedback is good...I want to LEARN!!

Thanks
Nathan

Hi Nathan

Welcome and good on you for looking at options !

Plenty of peops on 50 k a year have built MOUNTAINS over time

As a rule, demountables are tough to get finance for...............

ta

r

Thanks rolf
Yeah the plan is to get a loan for the investment, any reason why demountables are hard to finance.

Hooray,
I'm not to worried about capital gains at the moment...just somthing to pay itself off to partly fund another investment (hopefully a Duplex) down the track

Hooray,
Any chance you can explain what you mean

Why Capital gains in the only leverage and why I need it?
All this is new to me

Thanks heaps

Thanks rolf
Yeah the plan is to get a loan for the investment, any reason why demountables are hard to finance.

lenders see them as a depreciable asset............. like a car

Unlike house on land which tends to appreciate.

You can get a personal loan style finance, but the PI repayment over say 7 years and the ongoing rate are pretty yuck, thus killing any "paying it off"

ta

rolf

Hello Nate and welcome.