Career in property development

Hi All
This is a career path question for those who's profession is property development or property investment related.

I am trying to map a path from my current project management role in the facilities management area to a development or investment focused role. Any stories and advise greatly appreciated.

Currently I hold a Diploma of Project Management, Prince2 Practitioner certification and I am sitting the Project Management Institute Certified Associate of Project Management (CAPM) certification at the the end of this month. I am planning to commence a post graduate project management qualification next year.

Property investment and value-add/development has been an interest of mine for the last 15 years. 10 years ago I purchased IP number 1. IP numbers 2,3,4,5,6 etc are yet to come. I've also got an entrepreneurial/opportunistic element having successfully built and run a small business for 5 years.

Blending the elements of project management, property investment/value-add and enterprise/opportunism would seem to be a perfect mix of my talents and enthusiasms.

My plan (thus far) for transcending from facilities to development/investment is as follows:
(a) Join project management and property industry groups and start networking with property professionals
(b) complete a Graduate Certificate in Project Management. This has two benefits, firstly it will enable me to step-up the PM ladder and secondly it would be the easiest path for me to gain entry into post graduate property courses. (My undergrad quals are in IT)
(c) complete a Graduate Certificate/Diploma of Property (property development and investment)
(d) market myself to property development and investment businesses

I'm also considering undertaking the Property Council of Australia Industry Diploma courses in Property Investment and Property Development.
http://www.propertyoz.com.au/library/2013 Curriculum Booklet_0.pdf