Creating income from investing in properties

I got this idea from talking to people at The Investors Club (TIC) but wanted to know how it is possible. I’m new to investing in properties and have only attended one of their meetings. I guess what I’m asking is for the details of how it can be done.

Example:
If I have 3 IPs and want to draw an income from it. What TIC suggests is that once the properties build up enough equity you can create a line of credit account and use the equity behind the IPs to draw an income, say for an amount of 10,000.00 (annually).

Can anyone explain how this is done in a little more details?

What other ways do people use their IPs to create an income? I’m struggling with the idea of how multiple IPs can be used for an income in the short to medium term. I am interested in this because I have a 14 month old daughter and I want her to experience things/life as she grows up and my regular income just doesn’t cut it. I’d hate for her to miss out on life because of lack of funds.

I apologise if this post is ‘dumb’ (for the lack of a better word). Please help me understand the reasons behind multiple IPs.

If you search Living off equity here you will find it discussed ad nauseum.

But why anyone opts for such complexity, I don't know.

Interesting reply Sunfish

(If you search Living off equity here you will find it discussed ad nauseum.

But why anyone opts for such complexity, I don't know. )

Could it be that you have a more direct way of achieving a similar result.
If so I for one would be more than a little interested in your tragedy's to achieve this.

Gerd

I agree with gerd and Sunfish - am perplexed as to why someone would want to live off equity. Seems to me that using the equity to purchase more IPs which give you rental income to live off would be the way to go. Am I missing something here?

Cheers
LynnH