Developer vs Investor

Not sure whether to post in this section...

Just curious someone mentioned the other day that I was a developer not an investor, I thought this was strange as I thought I was both.

I consider developing property as a business involving projects such as renovating, improving raw land, builds etc.

A property investor is someone who is purchasing property with the intention of earning a return on their investment (purchase), either through rent (income), the future resale/s ...

My point is you can be both, develop property with the view of holding some stock which will generate a return, best of both worlds.

If you develop property and need to sell all your stock for income today then you are not a property investor you are running a business??

I have met a couple of developers who hold nothing, I think this is like cutting your nose despite your face as one of the principles to real wealth is accumulating assets. What do you think??

MTR:)

It depends on how you use the term.

There is the ATO sense and then there are the other permutations.

I call myself a developer because I do developments. However because I hold a lot people could call me an investor.

As to the ATO I'm probably a developer as I do it all to make money but we are still sorting out that issue and categorising company vs trust vs own name.

I'd guess developers are in the business of developing to make a profit, it doesn't matter if they never keep any of their completed product.
Maybe they just want to keep ramping up the profits until they can do a mega development and then hold some for their end goal.

We've developed all 13 of our IP's, and hold them all.
I would not consider myself a developer, as I have not had the intention to ever sell for anything for profit, don't need the cashflow from developing so can service the accumulation of these assets.
So generally would consider myself an investor at best, but closer to just a gut feel gambler really.