Development Finance Pitfalls for the first timer.....

Hey Guys,

Looking at doing a development (5 acres into 9 house blocks, just north of brisbane) and was interested to hear any of the pitfalls or unseen problems that people with experience had doing something like this themselves?
This is my first time, we are subdividing the family block so I would like to get as much right as I can. Love to hear about some strategies or advice?

Looking to borrow the dev costs against the original block itself all up about $500,000 including the infrastructure charges.

To the experienced ones out there, would love to hear anything you think would benefit the development at all!

Have you got the approval? What stage are you at?

Hi Aaron, no at the moment I'm doing the research part, trying to learn as much as I can about the whole process before I start incurring costs. Looking to gather the hindsight from the people who have done it before!!

I would suggest you start small and grow into property development. There are lots of pitfalls, but most new developers go under simply because they under estimate costs and over estimate their ability to manage a complex project.

I'm not saying that this development is too big for you, I don't know your personal circumstances. But when working out the funding and exit strategies, leave yourself plenty of room to move. Don't push yourself or your resources to the limit.

I would suggest you start small and grow into property development. There are lots of pitfalls, but most new developers go under simply because they under estimate costs and over estimate their ability to manage a complex project.

I'm not saying that this development is too big for you, I don't know your personal circumstances. But when working out the funding and exit strategies, leave yourself plenty of room to move. Don't push yourself or your resources to the limit.