Economist article on the Real Estate bubble

I am no expert, but I would guess that if there are many people in the same situation then banks wouldn't auction them all off to the wolves. I guess the banks would just sit tight in hope, the problem for banks (as in Japan) isnt so much the negative equity, but the fact that many loans are "non-performing", ie the people have stopped paying the interest.

H
Michael Croft

"I know the above scenario all seems rather fancifull in the current market, however I know it can and does happen as I have been there done that - twice."

I haven't been looking at real estate around the country in the past, and am not aware of such large reductons. I know there was a large problem around 1988 with 18% inflation, but didn't realise it was that large. Was that one of the 'Twice" you mentioned, and when was the other.? Just curious
jahn

While the peak was in 88 , I saw two houses sell for about 60 % of their 88 price while looking for a PPOR in 93 -94.

These were good houses in good streets in Pymble. One was nearer the top of the market . The other was medain price range.

See change

Hi jahn,

Sorry it should have said thrice not twice, I benefitted in the last three only, but remember the first which opened the mind.

1975 post Whitlam and the razor gang - mainly in Canberra some pockets elsewhere

1985 post reintroduction of capgains tax - Aust wide

1989 16 -18% interest rates - Aust wide

1994-5 slump following a building frenzy - Aust wide

As for always_learning I don't mind being one of the wolves, we perform an invaluable environment service and are being reintroduced world wide to restore ecological balance.

regards, MC

Hi Everybody,

Great thread. Interesting comments from everybody.