Family Trusts

hi guys
this is my first post so bear with me
i have been investing for 4 yrs now and after my first 3 ip's i formed a family trust with myself and my wife as trustees.i now have a few ip's in the trust and i have noticed that some suggest to form a company as the trustee for more asset protection can someone please explain why this is so.i am a reckless investor as i dont worry about returns etc i just see a property crunch some numbers and either buy or don't and hold for the long term any advice about the trust would be appreciated

keep on keepin on

My understanding (this is not advice) - is that because a trust is not a separate legal entity, it cannot be sued itself. Any actions taken against the trust are directed at the trustee (since the trustee is the person/entity making all the decisions - therefore if something went wrong which lead to litigation, it is the trustees fault).

In the settlement of legal proceedings, the courts may ask the trustee to pay out money - which effectively means that the trustee (you !) have to find that money from somewhere or potentially be bankrupted, which would be bad.

If you use a corporate trustee, and the trustee is sued, you could sack the trustee and appoint a new one, thus isolating the action. There might be further liabilities in your capacity of director of the trustee, but assuming you don't have any personal assets, there's not much to lose there. I'm not exactly sure what the potential areas for loss are in legal proceedings - you would need some professional advice on that.

If you yourself are sued, neither your corporate trustee, nor the assets it keeps in trust for your benefit, are at risk, given that they are not your assets to be taken away. At least I think that's how it works.

I must go back and read my copy of Renton again, but I don't think it spent much time covering the legal and asset protection side of trusts. I must finish reading Dale's book too - I'm sure he covers it.