FHO - Which loan?!

Hey Guys,

Looking at getting into my first IP inside this month to grab the full FHOG+bonus.... I'm looking at an 180k Property that generates 180p/wk rent with an 80% LVR....

Obviously I'm going to have to "live" in this place for a while so I'm eligible for the grant. I just don't know what type of loan I should get yet. I will be cash poor once I'm in so I guess an offset is a waste of time. Should I Do P&I untill I move out, or just get an IO loan straight off the bat?

Hiya

An offset may look like a waste today, but may be of benefit in the middle term

Id look at IO from the start if you can get it

ta
rolf

Thanks Rolf.

I've been looking at ANZ loans simply because I've been banking with them for over 12 years now and have a good relationship.... So many packages to choose from! and since this is my first time I've really not sure which to pick because I'm not sure what I will or wont use in the future..

Should I lock interest rates for an extra $10 per month (bank fee) ?
Go with the simplicity loand and save .8% interest but have a few features ?
Equity manager loan ?
Std variable ?

Jus

Anz like most of the majors have a nice complex range of products.

Why not give someone like Pete T a call from the forum and get him to run the numbers thru for you and lodge the application.

You will be suprised that even though you have been an existing customer for many years a credit submission is totally different and the local branch will have no sway in getting the deal done right.

A good mortgage broker can lend a little weight where needed.

I've had a MB suggest that the best offset option for me is the Homeside Offset Loan - Low Doc, which has:
*5.13% variable interest rate,
*$600 application fee,
*$300 exit/break fee,
*only $8/month fee for the offset functionality, which is significantly cheaper than most/all other banks as far as i'm aware.