Funny Objection Issues

As most people know I'm a consultant town planner. Deal a lot with a lot of different councils.

One of the highlights/lowlights is dealing with public submissions/objections on developments.

I've been engaged to provide a letter supporting a property owner who wants to build a new two storey house in a beachside suburb. As per usual the local progress association objected, as did the next door neighbour (they had a valid reason regarding poor quality overshadowing plans, but a lot of meaningless noise as well) but someone from about 10 houses up the street objected.

They stated that a two storey, modern house was not in keeping with the character of the area and would dominate the surrounding houses and should be refused. A personal opinion, all well and good. But perhaps let down a little by the fact that their own house was a 3 storey white concrete and glass monstrosity that dwarfed every surrounding house and is by far the most dominant structure in the street.

Any other developers/planners/architects have some corkers?

As most people know I'm a consultant town planner. Deal a lot with a lot of different councils.

One of the highlights/lowlights is dealing with public submissions/objections on developments.

I've been engaged to provide a letter supporting a property owner who wants to build a new two storey house in a beachside suburb. As per usual the local progress association objected, as did the next door neighbour (they had a valid reason regarding poor quality overshadowing plans, but a lot of meaningless noise as well) but someone from about 10 houses up the street objected.