General Adelaide Property Thread

Hi guys, i'm new to these parts. Glad I found the forum, some great advice/discussion going on here.....

Couldn't find a thread dedicated to property in Adelaide/SA in general so I thought I might start one and making ask some questions while i'm at it.....

Obviously Adelaide is in the middle of a great boom, from all reports it is currently at the peak of the market with Olympic Dam being expanded there are suggestions that property in Adelaide will benefit resulting in a longer period of the current boom.

I guess what I'm concerned about is buying at the very peak of a cycle. I was of the opinion that property never lost value and as such getting in as early as possible no matter what stage of the cycle is the best policy. However the recent "crash" of prices in Sydney as well as the subprime mortgage crisis, resulting in a dramatic drop in housing prices, in the US have challenged my former way of thinking. I realise that these risky loans made up approx 13% of the mortgage market in the US whilst they only constitute approx 1% of the market here, however we still aren't immune from having a similar crisis here as to what happened in America, albeit on a small scale.

If i'm wrong with my above comments, and i prob am, i'm curious as to which areas in Adelaide are currently worth getting into. Capital growth is what i'm after. It just seems like everything has gone through the roof and that now we are all paying premium prices. I've tried to think outside the square a bit and am looking at areas such as Mount Barker and Roxby Downs. Mount Barket interests me a lot, Roxby does too but i'm unsure as to the potential for captial growth in the future? Houses currently going for 380k+, how much higher can it possibly get in a mining town?

Anyway, trying to get some love for good 'ol Adelaide.......where to next?

Aussie

General Adelaide thread - great idea!! :)