Good Yeilding Stocks

Hi All,
Being an absolute novice in the area of buying shares,I'm sending my post out to those who could assist and share there thoughts.As we all know the sharemarket is taking some big hits at present.In these times however there could be some bargains to be had in regards to future capital growth and yeilding stocks.If anyone would like to share the stocks they believe are presenting good value and why ie yeild return and undervalued stock at present it would be appreciated.The one that has been spoken about is BHP currently worth $31.00 yeilding I think 84 cents per year fully franked.
Thanks Martin:):)

For a start: Check the history of yields over the past 5 years on any stock you look at.

Look for stability and/or growth in dividend yield.

You should also however look at profits of the company over the same period - make sure dividends haven't been artificially kept high when the company is actually making less or even losing money.

Cheers,

The Y-man

If you're looking for yield, 2.7% fully franked is hardly exciting.

The Big 4 banks are all yielding above 5%, as are some wealth management companies.
Alex

If you're looking for yield, 2.7% fully franked is hardly exciting.

Yeah, I suppose so, but then that is the nett figure....nothing else to pay and absolutely no ongoing headaches.....all professionally reported to you and deposited into your bank account on time as promised....and with the imputation credit to follow as a Xmas bonus, it sure beats the 2.7% gross yields faced by some residential investors (including myself) in the blue chip suburbs.

The Big 4 banks are all yielding above 5%

Exactly - the obvious choice to invest in if you want to make sustained big money....hence why they are all gathered at the top of the market cap. lists over any long period of time. Ruthless money making machines the lot of them. The only company type that only deals with money exclusively.

BHP has to concentrate on mining and money.